Adventures of Earl Sweathshirt and the N Word

Earl Sweatshirt concluded his “2015 Ready to Leave Now” tour here in Atlanta to promote his album I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t go Outside.

The concert was held at the Masquerade and proved to be quite a performance. Earl appeared along with a few Atlanta natives that got the crowd moving. Earl performed his fans favorite, and my personal favorite, “Greif” off of his new album. Despite the mosh pit going on 2 feet away from me I had a good time.

Usually at these sort of events there is a mixture of people in the crowd and you cannot help but to observe your surroundings at times. As in many of rap songs, Earl loves using nigga and of course being a fan you are going to sing right along word for word. Everything is all good until you look to your left and see a white person saying nigga and then you look slightly to your right and you see another, this one being a woman, saying nigga. You look around for a moment wondering “Do they not see me standing right here?” What are you to do? There is a only one of you and a few of them doing the same exact thing. You’re outnumbered.

 

0343_governorsball_earlsweatshirt_060814_dh

I was really enjoying myself at the concert. I was singing along and swaying side to side but I couldn’t help but to think “Has music and black musicians made it ok for white people to say nigga?” Earl Sweatshirt is an African American male who roots from the group Odd Future which features Tyler the Creator. Both Tyler and Earl have voiced that they don’t care about white people saying nigga. But that does not make it ok? NO. The history of the word alone should give people some sort of consideration of the use of the word but it hasn’t. It isn’t a secret that white people use the word but to blatantly use the word in front of a nigga, excuse me, an African American is flat out disrespectful.

The idea behind being okay with white people saying nigga goes something like this, I’m okay with it as long as they don’t call me a nigga. Everything is cool until you’re being recognized as one.

I am not saying the word should not be used in music, I am a repeated offender of using the word nigga but I will not accept being called one by a white person just like I am not okay with a white person, male or female, referring to me as boy. It is the history of these words that come with a historic connotation that just does not sit with me. If you do not want to be called a nigga by a white person or anyone who is not African American then do not accept them saying it in a musical context. It’s unacceptable.

Besides that, the concert was good.

This post was written by Darrius Newton.

