Balmain Spring 15

Balmain Spring 2015 balmain-spring-summer-2015-15 Balmain-Spring-Summer-2015-Menswear-Collection-SS15-Men_-5 images imgres

When I first started getting into  fashion I would go on to style.com and look up brands I was familiar with , you know the Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Alexander Wang, Prada, etc. I eventually stumbled upon Balmain, a designer I have never heard of at the time, I saw the men’s 2013 Fall collection and I fell in love.  The look was so elegant and unique. I immediately thought of “The King of Pop” , Michael Jackson who is a fashion icon. The Balmain look is something I can see myself in and the Spring 2015 Collection is by far the best I’ve seen from any men’s collection this year.

The 27 year old creative director of Balmain, Olivier Rousteing vision is simply remarkable and head turning.  Rousteing looked to the beautiful light,landscape, and style of California to create a collection that includes clean lines, complex geometries of colorful Native-American patterns, and vivid pops of Hockney-esque colors”, says Balmain spokesman.

The Native beaded jackets really jumped out to me because it looked so artful. The Navajo patterning required three weeks of workmanship says style.com. When looking at this collection three  categories come to mind 1. Native American 2. Fighter Pilot 3. Athlete.

 

The Native American vision is obvious and the fighter pilot/athletic observation comes from the matching jacket and pant combinations that has the athletic fit and look.  Spring 15 is my favorite collection from Balmain and Oliver Rousteing has become my favorite designer. Check out the collection on style.com or balmain.com

One day I will be able to afford Balmain, but until then I will write about it #LiveLifeLite world

-Marcel Bouie

